Home Who We Are


The ILM is one of the five local municipalities that comprise UThukela District Municipality. It is located along the foothills of UKhahlamba-Drakensberg Mountain which is a world heritage site and one of the prime tourist destinations in KwaZulu-Natal and South Africa generally. Although it is approximately 30km away from the N3, the area enjoys a relatively good access at a regional scale as two of the main regional access routes linking the Drakensberg to the battlefields and the N3, runs through ILM. These are the roads to Giants Castle and Northern Drakensberg. Ladysmith and Escourt which are the major towns within the district are about 35km and 70km away respectively.

Although Imbabazane has no major town and it is the smallest local municipality in terms of geographic size, it has a total population of 113 073 which accounts for approximately 18% of the population within the district and this subsequently means it is the third most populated area within uThukela District. Population distribution within Imbabazane is spread unevenly among 13 municipal wards with the majority of the population being resident in rural villages. These are scattered throughout the municipal area, particularly in the traditional authority areas and along the main regional and district access routes (IDP: 2006:5). The area is approximately 853 km2 in extent.

There are six traditional council (TC) areas in Imbabazane Local Municipality, namely:

  • Amangwe Traditional Council Area-(Ward 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12) under iNkosi Mazibuko.
  • KwaMabaso Traditional Council Area - (Ward 6 and 7) under iNkosi Mabaso.
  • EMhlungwini Traditional Council Area- (Ward 2, 3, 4 and 5) under iNkosi Ndaba.
  • KwaDlamini Traditional Council Area- (Ward 2) under iNkosi Dlamini.
  • AmaHlubi Traditional Council Area - (Ward 2, 13 and 12) under iNkosi Hadebe.
  • iNkosi Mkhize in KwaMkhize Traditional Area- ( Ward 1).

Within the ILM, the existing traditional authorities can be clustered into two categories. The majority of the traditional authorities form the eastern and central part of ILM whilst Amangwe act as the defining edge on the north-western portion of ILM. Typical of rural areas in South Africa, they consist of dispersed and scattered settlements with no proper co-ordination with regard to provision of services and associated social infrastructure. Map 15 above depicts the spatial orientation of traditional authority areas.


Vision Statement

"By 2030, Imbabazane Local Municipality shall be a municipality of excellence that delivers services in an economically, socially and sustainable manner"

Mission Statement

Through public participation Imbabazane shall be a democratic, sustainable shall be a democratic, sustainable, competitive institution which provides opportunities to its entire resident to grow and prosper economically and socially within a framework of good governance.

Core Values

  • Commitment
  • Responsibility
  • Accountability
  • Transparency
  • Responsive
  • Assertive

Key Performance Areas

  • Municipal Transformation and Organisational development
  • Service Delivery and Infrastructure
  • Local Economic and Social Development
  • Municipal Financial Viability and Management
  • Good Governance and Public Participation
  • Spatial and Environmental